Watercolor landscape

Landscapes have never really been my thing. I get bogged down in details, it takes forever, looks wrong, and I find it both frustrating and less interesting than people or horses. In spite of this, occasionally I want a landscape on my wall, or want something other than stark white paper behind my heroically posed main subject.

So, I learn.

The most useful thing I’ve learned in these watercolor courses is to focus on light and dark. It helps you focus on what’s really there, rather than what you think you see.

I’m finding that I like the results of my concentrated practice, even if it doesn’t look exactly like the reference photo, it’s still pretty.

20161201_074826

Leave a Reply

